Ascent 226 – That First Shave

Here I am, almost 55 years young and I’m writing about a first shave. I wrote recently about joining the Dollar Shave Club. I received there products in the mail last night and I was keen to try them today.

2016-08-13 11.33.37I had ordered the Executive razor, which has a nice heavy handle and a 4-blade head with lubrication strips. My order also came with Dr. Carver’s Shave Butter. I rarely use shave creams or foams as plain soap has always done the job for me.

The Shave Butter contains Golden Barley as an anti-irritant. Prickly Pear Cactus as a moisturizer and Pacific Sea Algae as a soothing agent.

Hot water filled the sink, as the razor nestled in it, warming up the blades. After wrestling with the seal on the Shave Butter with wet hands, I smeared a dollop in both hands then applied it to my face.

2016-08-13 11.39.09It wasn’t foamy lather, just went on like a lotion. The scene was set for that first stroke.

I was amazed at how smoothe the shave felt. It’s not just because it’s a fresh blade, the whole process was distinctly different. Everything just felt cleaner and closer.

When I rinsed off, I was truly amazed at how much better this shave was and how effective the Shave Butter is.

If first experience is anything to go by, Dollar Shave Club has a customer for life.

Leave a Reply

