Ascent 211 – Commitment Matters

Commitment was brought into my awareness over the last couple of days. More specifically, the level of commitment to that which I say is important to me.

2016-07-30 11.39.30

I love the Steven Covey quote: Without involvement, there is no commitment. I believe the opposite is true also. If you’re not committed, you probably won’t get involved.

If I were to ask you to write a list of that which is truly important in your journey, you would probably be able to that rapidly. If I then asked you to indicate on a scale of 1-10, your level of commitment to that which you say is important, what would that look like? And if I asked you what percentage of your time was actually invested in those items, would it truly reflect your perceived level of importance & commitment.

This is a powerful exercise in how committed you are. I recently had the inspiration to lock in on one focus, one goal. This is crucial when you are attempting to achieve something specific. There are of course other areas in life that require your commitment also. Ie: Your health & self care, your emotional & spiritual growth, your family and personal relationships. They all deserve your commitment and your time.

Have you found yourself getting frustrated because you’re not able to invest the time & effort you desire on one or more commitments?

The above exercise in determining the true priority and commitment level may assist in making some shifts. I know I can do 1 thing extremely well, 2 things pretty well, 3 things fairly well. See the pattern?

The more irons you have in the fire, the thinner you’ll be spread and the less you’ll be able to invest in what matters. When you get frustrated, that robs you of the energy & passion you need to rock out whatever it is you’ve chosen to focus on in that moment.

It’s easy to get caught up in multiple pursuits. Especially in the age of visual imagery where we’re bombarded with images of people at the very top of their game, in that instant of time when the camera shutter clicked. Whether it’s a best selling author, fitness competitor, ninja master, etc. You can, of course, enjoy all these pursuits. Achieving the pinnacle in any may require some choices.

Multi-tasking is not my forte and I’ve learned to say ‘NO!’ to that which doesn’t serve this current phase of my journey.

WinnerAnd that is my overall commitment: To the most fulfilling life journey possible. I choose to get involved with that which fuels my passion, brings me closer to the people & energies that uplift me and that are truly in alignment with my passion.

What to do if you don’t feel committed to a project or venture? Step back and determine whether it is really right for you right now. Is it an item that you do want to be fully committed to. If the answer is no, then release it – for now. You’ll know if & when it’s time to revisit it.

If the answer is yes, what is impeding your commitment to it? Are there other non-essential entities that are depleting your time & energy? If so, release them. Do you have multiple projects competing for your focus? If you’re not a master multi-tasker, then arrange them to suit your style best. For me, that is sequential. I bring one to completion, then start the next. I can’t tell you how many projects I’ve started and not completed because the next shiny object came into my awareness.

Allocate and protect your time to honor your commitments and your priorities. This simple tweak alone will pay huge dividends for you and give you that essential downtime.

I’m committed primarily to shifting my vocation currently to substantially free up my time, energy & resources to allow me to devote them to my next commitment.

2 thoughts on “Ascent 211 – Commitment Matters

  1. This is an ongoing process for me. I too take on too many things and then end up competing none of them. Thank you for sharing these thoughts. They are very helpful. Time and energy are our most valuable resources and yet we constantly squander them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

