Ascent 201 – Remote Chess Challenge

ChessI’m experiencing a new first with my son, Chris. We’re both chess aficionados and have enjoyed many games together.

Over the weekend in upstate NY, I observed Chris playing a chess game on his phone app. I asked if he was playing against someone and he said that he wasn’t aware of an app or website that supported that.

I recalled looking at Chess.com a while back and that it allowed you to play against others anywhere in the world.

2016-07-19 18.45.05I found that Chess.com does have an app also and promptly downloaded it to my iPhone. Chris found the Android equivalent and installed it. We set up our accounts and established a player connection.

We didn’t revisit the chess during the remainder of the trip as we were enjoying being present and spending time together. There’s no app for that.

I had a little downtime today, so initiated a game with Chris and we appear to be going through a classic opening sequence. I’ll allow this pas de deux for a few more moves, then shred his defense with my ninja moves.

Overall, it will be a fun game regardless of the outcome.

If you’re up for a game, I’m on Chess.com as Coach_Mark

2016-07-19 18.44.10

The plot unfolds

Leave a Reply

