Ascent 190 – A Magical Journey

This evening we watched the third of the Harry Potter movies – The Prisoner of Azkaban. I have all 8 of the movies on DVD and Sue had started watching them, viewing the first two.

Potter movies

As I sat there, captivated by the sheer magnificence of the movie, I reminisced some about my journey with Harry Potter and thought it blog-worthy tonight.

PotterMy youngest son, Christopher, was an avid reader and instantly took to the first movie in 2001, when he was 10 years old. We attended every release of the books, which were usually on July 16th – his birthday. So many great memories of being at Barnes and Noble when the clock struck midnight, with the staff in various Potter attire and us wearing those iconic round glasses. The excitement built up until finally, they cracked open the boxes of Potter-ness and handed them out to an eager crowd. That experience alone was pure magic.

I confess that I have yet to read the books albeit did see every one of the movies in the theater. And, getting them on DVD as soon as they were released.

The movies themselves are simply phenomenal. Every detail, artifact and word in each frame was carefully thought out. The effects and the cinematography are awesome. There is a wonderful thread of humor throughout the movies, tapering off some as Harry gets older and the evil he faces becomes more prevalent.

Having seen the JK Rowling story, I can understand where the exquisite details comes from. She would visualize each item & scene, totally defining it and then capturing it for inclusion in the story.

Chris was 10 when we saw the first movie and it’s like he grew up with Harry Potter, which makes the movies just that little bit more poignant when I watch them again. And, that’s a beautiful thing about them – they are timeless and you can watch them repeatedly without them getting old. Each time I watch, I pick up on something that I hadn’t noticed before.

There’s an expression: Those who don’t believe in magic will never find it. I’m definitely a believer and can say that I have found it. You won’t be calling me a Muggle anytime soon.

Thank you, JK Rowling for this wonderful legacy and a precious part of my family history.

Leave a Reply

