Ascent 176 – Namaste Restaurant

Namaste CafeI’ve driven around Hillside Ave in Queens several times and the bright yellow awning of Namaste Restaurant has caught my eye and I’ve made mental notes to visit it.

Today, I was off work and was running errands, was in the neighborhood and was hungry, and it seemed like the perfect opportunity to satisfy the intention.

We parked nearby and entered the building. I was instantly impressed with the warm ambience of the place. There weren’t many people dining albeit the lunch period was over, so that made sense.

Prior to arriving, I wasn’t sure what the menu was about or what kind of food they offered. To my delight, it was an Indian buffet – which is one of my favorite foods.

All my favorites were there – Tandoori chicken, butter chicken, goat curry, pakora, basmati rice. And several additional new items.

We received an order of crispy roti bread, which was phenomenal.

The food was excellent and the service was outstanding. Normally in a buffet, you’re on your own and help yourself to whatever you want. Here, they asked you if there was anything you wanted more of and would bring it to you.

I couldn’t resist going back for a second plate of this delightful food. I did opt to skip the dessert.

If you’re in the area and are partial to Indian food, I highly recommend Namaste Restaurant.

Leave a Reply

