Ascent 175 – To Read or to Reread – That is the Question

Four HourI’m in that interesting point between books. I confess that I’m a recovering avid reader. I use the term ‘recovering’ because I opted to embrace the Low Information Diet as recommended by Tim Ferriss in his awesome book The Four Hour Workweek. (Love the irony that a book I’m reading recommends not reading so much).

This practice has actually been serving me quite well as I no longer saturate my awareness with a massive quantity of information. Instead, I choose to be more selective and pick up the book(s) that speak to me in the moment.

I love the quote by Albert Einstein: Reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking.

I do feel there is some truth in this statement albeit there is a caveat. Slowing down the quantity of information consumed allows it to be better absorbed and utilized. Being more selective on the nature of the information allows it to give your mind and spirit the nutrition it is needing most in the moment.

Therefore, there are times when it is simply perfect to abstain from reading to allow information that you have already consumed to be assimilated.

Additionally, I’m not a good book multitasker, preferring to single-thread my reading and focus on one tome at a time. My only deviation from this is when I have a non-fiction book going and I have something at the other end of the spectrum, such as a good novel. Thus, each has a space in my journey and there is no conflict of information.

As I enjoy this period of intellectual coasting, I’m contemplating what is seeking an invitation into my awareness next. I do love experiencing new authors, topics and contexts, I also find immense value in revisiting certain books and reading them over. Examples of this are: The Power of Now, The Alchemist and The Four Agreements. I do believe there are certain foundational principles that I love to maintain at the forefront of my awareness. As my journey evolves, the time may come to lovingly release a book and allow something else into my space. When that time comes, I’ll simply know it.

I have half a dozen new books, both print and on Kindle, that appealed to me albeit none are really standing out for me right now. I may crack open one of those, I may reread a treasured classic, or something totally new may come out of left field. For now, I’m just going to let it all flow, see what presents on my journey and which book speaks to me at that time.

Leave a Reply

