Ascent 135 – Dinner at Santoor

I LOVE Indian food. Besides my family, that was one of the main things I missed about living in England. I used to go to a wonderful restaurant in Hitchin, Hertfordshire (Bob Hope’s birthplace) a couple of times per week with my 2 friends, Mick and Bob.

Ironically, I now live within walking distance of 3 Indian restaurants and I haven’t eaten at them for a long time. I had the lunch buffet at one of them last summer.

Tonight, I felt like some spicy was in order and I had found a coupon for the closest emporium – Santoor Indian Grill on Union Turnpike in Glen Oaks, NY.

The aroma as you walk in the door is amazing. We were promptly seated and the traditional papadom was brought out with a couple of sauces, to hold us over until we ordered. After a brief perusal of the menu, I ordered Vegetable Samosas as the appetizer, Garlic Naan bread and the Chicken Vindaloo as my entree. Sue ordered the Lamb Palak.

The samosas were wonderful. Triangular shaped pastries stuffed full of lightly spiced vegetables. Then, the main event arrived. I create the customary circle of Basmati rice, then added a few spoonfuls of the vindaloo. Armed with a slice of the Naan bread, it was time to enter curry heaven. I was not disappointed. The sauce was just right and was had just the right amount of spice. The more you eat this type of curry, the more the heat builds up. Thankfully, the waiters were watchful, and kept the water glasses full. The Naan was perfectly cooked – it wasn’t too thick, was just a little crunchy and they didn’t go overboard with the garlic.

We ate just enough to enjoy the meal and the rest bagged to bring home.

I thoroughly enjoyed my first dinner at Santoor and look forward to trying the other items on their menu in the near future.

Leave a Reply

