Ascent 134 – Blame Someone Else Day … Not

As I was contemplating what my first would be today, I saw this lovely event on the www.checkiday.com calendar. I was instantly curious as to why they would devote a day to passing the buck and avoiding taking responsibility for your actions.

There is no substantial origin of this day albeit the author of the web page did find someone to blame for it. Anne Moeller of Cleo Michigan. On May 13, 1982, her alarm clock did not sound, making her late for work and she spent the day spreading blame and making excuses for being late.

I stopped blaming others for things in my space a long time ago, preferring instead the freedom and peace that comes from taking responsibility for my actions. This does tend to make me an easy target for those who do still like to dole out blame yet it all comes out in the wash and the truth does prevail.

I’m a believer in the concept that we control our responses to what happens to us in life. When you place blame that tends to make you a victim and thus disempowers you. You may have no control over the actions of others, but you do have a choice over how it impacts your journey.

As Jimmy Buffett sings in Margaritaville: It’s my own damn fault.

OwnFault

Mark and Chris with It’s My Own Damn Fault hats – Sloppy Joe’s, Key West

Leave a Reply

