Ascent 114 – First Zumba Class

Finally, after 3 or 4 weeks of missing the class, I achieved one of the firsts on my list – a Zumba Class.

My first few attempts didn’t pan out due to class being canceled, my being sick and other circumstances outside my control.

The class was at 10:00am at NNOWW Fitness on Northern Blvd, Little Neck, NY. There were 3 ladies joining me for the class, led by the instructor, Lisette.

2016-04-23 11.03.16

With instructor Lisette after the class

She is a wonderful instructor, giving plenty verbal guidance and visual cues when a change in move or direction was needed, which helped keep the flow going, and the right way.

The music was an eclectic variety of Latin beats and hip-hop tracks. The energy was kept high with occasional brief pauses to catch breath and take a sip of water.

I felt I kept up with the class pretty well. Being my first time and learning the steps & moves, I did get a little out of sync a few times albeit got back in the flow pretty quickly. There was one movement where there were stepping and doing an upper body shimmy. I was rather amused at this one as I didn’t have anything to shake. A couple of the ladies were smirking at my attempt to do what they were doing.

The class got my heart rate up and had me sweating from the mid-point. When it was over, I felt energized & invigorated. I have a feeling this first may become a regular part of my routine.

Leave a Reply

