Ascent 100 – First 100 Firsts

A celebratory first today as I have my 100th first and blog post. It’s been a wonderful journey this year, with a bit of excitement & mystery thrown into each and every day with the simple commitment to do something new and then write about it.

2015-12-29 21.11.35The inspiration for this venture came from the phenomenal book I Dare Me by LuAnn Cahn and the daily blog of fellow journeyer Cindy Lauderdale Moore, who made the commitment January 1, 2014 with her blog cindygoesbeyond.wordpress.com. She is still blogging daily today.

The premise is simple: Break the monotony and patterns of life by seeking something new each day. Something you have not done before. Ie: Eat at a new restaurant, eat something new at old restaurant, wear different clothes, listen to different music, abstain from something you love for a day, do something you’ve always wanted to do, share something about your life or heritage that you haven’t shared publicly before. And so on. The choices are unlimited and LuAnn’s book does a wonderful job of showing how simple it is to do and the excitement that comes from it. There are times when you may feel stuck coming up with a first to do or share about. And there are times when you come up with something and realize you’ve already done it – which reminds you your life hasn’t been totally boring.

2015-10-18 23.15.15I was reviewing my prior 99 posts and loving the variety & fun I’ve had on my journey this year. Several of my experiences involved food – which is not surprising living in NYC. You could literally eat from a different country or region every day of the year. I’m making better meal choices now I’m working with a health coach and she reads my blog. Entertainment is a regular feature as well, including new movies, artists, venues and sharing my love for certain classics in the public forum.

I’ve written a few times on topics I typically don’t share about, such as politics. As this will be my first year of voting as a US Citizen, it’s a rather big deal to me. And, I choose to focus on the facts & pertinent details, not the mud slinging and the bashing. I’ve been inspired to dig deeper into my personal heritage and my roots in Ireland, Scotland and Wales. It’s interesting to note that, at 54, I hadn’t really explored that much. Probably because with my father being in military and us constantly moving, I felt more nomadic and simply focused on where I was and where I was going, rather than where I came from. A fact that has thankfully changed. A big part of that inspiration was from Cindy, who recently visited Scotland and explored her heritage there.

Some of my firsts involved abstaining, as mentioned above. At work I committed to a day without snacking and avoided the vending machine. I LOVE Jalapeno chips and there is something about crunching that helps me when I’m stuck on a problem. It was refreshing to go a whole day, and it is now a regular part of my journey, as many of my firsts have become. Not sitting was another one. I spend 3 hours a day commuting and then 8 hours at a desk. A couple of people in my office have started standing while they work and I opted to try that for the first time. It was a great experience and now part of my daily routine.

I’m not a big TV watcher, preferring to watch the occasional movie, or series on DVD on my schedule. I have been turned on to some shows recently, which was a refreshing first for me. I love Jane The Virgin, Mozart in the Jungle and now … Outlander. Thankfully, I have them available on-demand, so I can watch them as my schedule & preferences allow, and not be tied to the networks.

I’ve had the opportunity to share other personal things too, like my intentions for a round the world trip, my affirmations, my yoga, my perspective on things. My community on social media are a wonderful group of enlightened spirits who provide great feedback, encouragement and alternate perspective.

And, of course, there are many firsts for me that involve coffee. The dreaded day without coffee is on my target first list albeit most of my friends and colleagues want to be notified so they can hide somewhere that day. I don’t think I’m THAT bad.

I draw inspiration for my firsts from various sources. One being the calendar site https://www.checkiday.com/ that has an eclectic collection of occasions to honor, acknowledge or participate in.

There are often times when I have a first in mind and circumstances dictate that it doesn’t come to be. For, example, I have intended to try Zumba for the last 2 Saturdays and it just hasn’t happened. Which means there was something better for me to experience.

And, here we are at the 100 milestone. I am excited to see what firsts will unfold next and I appreciate your walking alongside me and sharing the experience.

One thought on “Ascent 100 – First 100 Firsts

Leave a Reply

