Ascent 97 – National Tartan Day

Today’s first acknowledged the hallmark of the Scottish clan – the tartan.

10426732_10208772523288019_1844387813560041240_n

 

National Tartan Day is a US observance on April 6 each year. It commemorates the Scottish Declaration of Independence, from which the American Declaration of Independence was modeled on. It also recognizes achievements of Americans of Scottish descent.

Isn’t that interesting? Becoming more aware of my Scottish ancestry, it felt like a fitting first for me today. I found a picture of my clan tartan, shared it on Facebook and invited others to do the same. My friends, Cindy & Lisa promptly shared their tartan.

12923257_10209303032991296_9157166806632306976_n

Semple Tartan

I don’t currently own a kilt albeit am interested in acquiring one and sharing these awesome kneecaps with the civilized world. I did a quick Google and was pleasantly surprised to see there are a couple of kilt shops in NYC. I don’t know if my tartan is freely available. My friend Cindy advised that some are restricted and purchase must be approved by the clan chief. If that’s the case, then it will be a fun adventure to go that route and acquire clan permission.

I mentioned this day to a couple of people at work and was pleasantly surprised to learn they are Scottish descent also. One never knows who is in your space and potentially kin.

Titanic Blood And Steel 2012The series Outlander was also recommended to me as one I need to watch. As it takes place in 18th century Scotland, it felt like a fitting accompaniment for this day. I was instantly enthralled with this series. The period attire & energy felt extremely authentic and the countryside & haunting music helped to complete the energy of the show. At times it felt a bit like Lord of the Rings and I was half expecting Gandalf to pop out at any moment. I won’t say too much about it as I don’t want to be a spoiler for those that haven’t watched it yet. Let’s just say it’s further fanning my flames to explore my Scottish ancestry and visit there.

The first episode was titled Sassenach, which brought a smile to my face. I haven’t heard that for a long time.

Leave a Reply

