Ascent 96 – The Force Awakens on BluRay

2016-04-05 18.54.04I’m excited for today’s first! Star Wars – The Force Awakens was released for home viewing. I saw the movie twice in the theater – once with my yoga guru Mokshapriya Shakti, and once in mind-blowing IMAX 3D. To say I’m a big fan of this series would be an understatement. I’ve been enjoying the galaxy traversing struggle of good vs evil since the 70’s when Episode IV – A New Hope was released.

So – why the Force is this a first??? Well, it’s my first acquisition of The Force Awakens and it is a first for me to get any of the Star Wars movies in the BluRay format. A movie with this visual experience just isn’t done justice on DVD. The max resolution possible with DVD is 720×480 pixels, which doesn’t honor the capabilities of today’s High Definition televisions. BluRay allows full high definition at the 1080p standard, which is 1920×1080 pixels.

Which means all that special effects wizadry is unleashed with the magnificence it deserves, right in your living room.

Additionally, the BluRay had some deleted scenes and some additional concept about the creation of the storyline, the worlds, musical score and so on. It definitely seemed like a lot of value was added for an additional $3.

I’d love to write more, but I have an HD movie to enjoy. May the Force be with you.

Leave a Reply

