Ascent 84 – Hello Thunderbird

Mozilla Thunderbird that is – my first experience with this email client. For a couple of years now, I’ve managed my email via the email service, ie: Gmail, or via the mail accounts on my phone. And, I got fed up with it.

For a long time prior, I used an email client program on my computer. Mostly Outlook Express. This allowed me to set up multiple email accounts from various providers and capture them all in one receive swoop. I could create folders to categorize my messages and implement rules to move them there automatically when they came in, allowing me to browse a category of email at a time, which maintained focus.

ThunderbirdII

As I was getting ready to shut down my web hosting package and transfer my Coach email address, I needed to offload all emails first. There it was – my perfect opportunity to switch to a client program.

ThunderbirdI had done some research on the available clients for the Windows OS. I went with Thunderbird because it has been around a while, is stable and has great reviews. I’m not a fan of massive functionality in software – I prefer simple, robust and does what I need it to do. If you’re in the market, Google ‘best email clients for Windows’

The download & install was a breeze, as was the account set up. And then it was time to do something else as the 7200 messages were downloaded into the client for the first time. After that, it will only download new messages. I love also how you can set the client up to delete the messages from the server after download, so you will have a minimal set of messages on the web.

I’ve already cut this quantity of messages in half and will continue the purge over the next few days. There are a few important categories & emails I want to retain and have easy access to, and I’ll be getting that set up shortly. As part of this simplification process, I’ll be unsubscribing from many of the email lists I have signed up for or got conscripted to somehow. Life is just too short to read unnecessary emails.

I think Thunderbird and me are going to get along just fine.

Leave a Reply

