Ascent 37 – The New Italian

The first today was a dish I had not tried before. It’s Sue’s birthday, and we gathered a few family and friends at Aunt Bella’s Italian restaurant on Marathon Parkway in Douglaston, NY. It’s a small family-owned restaurant with amazing ambiance and great food.

After perusing all the tempting entrees, I heard the waiter describe a certain dish a few times and, as I hadn’t had it before, decided that would be my first tonight: Chicken Monte Carlo.

2016-02-06 21.01.23

Grilled chicken breast, slice of prosciutto, slice of tomato, covered in melted mozzarella. I added a side of angel hair pasta with marinara sauce.

The food took a while as they really take time to prepare everything properly. And, it was worth the wait. I only ate half of it as I wanted to enjoy the birthday cake.

To top it off, I ordered a cappuccino. Lately, I’ve been on a quest to find the best cappuccino in the area. To date, Aunt Bella’s holds the title.

2016-02-06 21.31.41

Leave a Reply

