Ascent 28 – Fun At Work Day

I always strive to have fun at everything I do – including work. Yet today was the first time I have acknowledged National Fun At Work Day. If it’s National, it’s basically our duty to ensure the jocularity is of acceptable proportions, right?

Folks often find amusement at how often they see me making coffee. And, that’s okay – we can’t all be perfect. My go-to coffee receptacle in the office is the beloved Pier One Smiley Mug. Folks see that and they always smile. How could they not?

Smily Mug

I do have a sense of humor that many in the office just don’t comprehend or appreciate. Yet that doesn’t deter me. I admit I am quite-self amused at times. Thankfully, there are several in the office who do share my passion for enjoying time spent and the back and forth is quite amusing.

Today, I strode into the Export Manager’s office, stood on the spare chair in front of his desk and told him the way it is. When he stopped laughing, he ordered me out of the office. Hey, he’s lucky I didn’t have to go to the bathroom. He does call me some Spanish phrases that he promises are terms of endearment …

FunAtWorkDay

Of course, it’s not all fun and games and we have to do the best we can and take care of whatever is in the moment. And then find the fun and games.

Bottom line for me is that work is part of life. I choose to enjoy life and thus I choose to enjoy all facets of it. So there.

Leave a Reply

