Ascent 27 – Theory of Relativity

For my first today, I contemplated on of physic’s greatest formulae: E = mc2

Einstein1

I confess, I am a bit of a science geek and love the works of Einstein, Hawking and my ancestor – Newton. While fascinated with science, physics, quantum mechanics, etc., it dawned on me that I had never actually looked into what the theory of relativity was about.

Sooo …. the equation itself defines Einstein’s theory of special relativity that shows that the increased relativistic mass (m) of a body comes from the energy of motion of the body – that is, it’s kinetic energy (E) – divied by the speed of light squared (c2). This equation expresses the fact that mass and energy are the same physical entity and can be changed into each other. (Source: Encyclopedia Britannica)

Do you feel as enlighted as I do? Of course the fun comes in with actually proving the theory. Which Einstein was adept at and I’m completely comfortable with saying I wouldn’t know where to start.

It is interesting indeed to note that we can have a long standing interest in something yet not have specific knowledge of it. Sounds like a facet of relativity to me.

Einstein2

Leave a Reply

