Ascent 4 – Relinquishing the Kung Pao

It’s a Monday night after the first work day of the New Year. Didn’t feel much like cooking and hadn’t taken anything out of the freezer so that time-honored New York City tradition was invoked – order take out.

Chinese felt like it would hit the spot and there’s a great little restaurant just down the road from us – Cheung Khei.

Wonder what I'll become if I eat there too much? :)

 

If you’ve followed me on FaceBook for a while, you know what my Chinese addiction is: Kung Pao Chicken, extra spicy. I’m the kind of person who, when I love something, will stick with it and order it repeatedly. Some may think that’s boring. I say kiss my … I mean I like what I like. That’s not a bad thing, right?

For my first tonight, I opted to release the Kung Pao. (That sounds like an epic classic Kung Fu flick, doesn’t it?) Initially, I was going to pick something from the menu I had not tried before. And then, I had the inspiration to truly make it a first … let someone else pick my meal for me!

Sooo … I asked Sue to order the food and to pick something out for me. She asked me what I wanted and I replied “Surprise Me.” That was a big step for me, as a couple of other times I made that statement it didn’t work out too well. I’ll probably share more after the statute of limitations has expired. (Okay, kidding about the last part.) She was game to run with the ball and the die was cast.

The food arrived, and I was curious to see what was ordered for me. First off, it came with an eggroll. Which is always a plus for me. The entree was Shrimp in Lobster sauce with Pork fried rice.

IMG_1016

Which, incidentally, I have never had, so it was another first there. It was quite delicious and I was happy with the decision to let go and put my first (and my dinner) in the hands of another.

Has this broken my affection for Kung Pao? All shall be revealed in due time.

Leave a Reply

