Ascent 3 – The Star Wars Saga Continues in IMAX 3D

 

StarWars

I’ve been a fan of Star Wars since the first movie came out in 1977. I’ve watched them all many times over the years and also got to share them with my children. For me, no matter how many times I’ve seen them, they’re always fresh and exciting for me. I was too old for the Jedi training, but that didn’t stop me from being a devotee.

I was extremely excited when Episode VII – The Force Awakened was released. I abstained from joining the throngs during the initial release, choosing to go when the Force had calmed down a little bit.

I decided that I wanted to view this extravaganza full Force – in IMAX 3D. I had read reviews that said the 3D was okay albeit not worth the extra money. As a Jedi is trained to trust his feelings, I opted to trust mine and go for it.

IMG_1010

People started lining up outside the theater minutes ahead of showtime. I rarely do this albeit am glad I did this time as it was a full house. I love seeing the variety of ages at these movies – from toddlers to senior citizens. All excited to see another episode of this timeless story of good versus evil.

I chose a seat midway up in the auditorium which was just the right distance to take in the massive screen easily. They started building up the excitement by showing trailers in 2D then switching to 3D and requiring we don our uber nerdy 3D glasses.

IMG_1009

And then it was showtime! I found myself grinning and sitting up in my seat as the classic Star Wars score boomed through the theater and the scrolling introduction set the stage for tonight’s foray amongst the civilized star systems. Or, not so civilized …

I love how everyone cheered and applauded as certain beloved characters made their appearances.

Han Solo was always my favorite character. That lovable rogue who is a scoundrel one minute, a hero the next and then stealing Leia’s heart. (I still love his answer to when she said “I Love You!”)

I’m not going to spoil the plot of the movie. It definitely delivered and, while answering some questions, posed many more. Answers to which we will need the next installment in a distant galaxy, long ago.

Am still bubbling from today’s ascent and will be for a couple of days.

Leave a Reply

